A beautiful headdress instead of ashes…

This is a post that I haven’t wanted to write. It seemed too personal, too much of a downer, too heavy for my little blog here but as the days and weeks have gone by this theme keeps coming up. The scripture keeps popping into my mind and the Lord keeps reminding me of how good He is.

And so I need to share His goodness with you all or to whoever wants to sit down and listen.

There have been many trials and hard seasons in my life. I love my life and the trials that have come and gone because I see how the Lord has used them to mold and shape me into the person I am today. I see where the rough edges have been smoothed and where the waves have crashed and washed away what was clinging too closely to my flesh. I’ve also seen trials come and go and haven’t seen any movement or lasting impression. I, however, know that the Lord allows these things in my life for a purpose and so when I go through them I keep that in mind, always. I always remind myself that this is for good and that someday the Lord will use this testimony. Someday I will see the result of the hurt and one day my scars will be beautiful.

This last month I’ve seen this happen. This last month I’ve watched as the Lord took something that was so painful in my life and turned it into something beautiful. Something that has helped others through their own pain. I’ve watched as the Lord has freed me from a past that built walls around me and bound me to it. I’ve watched as He has broken down those walls and made me whole. I have been renewed and I’ve been able to share this and see fruit from it.

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about a new season. I wrote about how I could feel it coming on, not only for me but also for those in my little community and boy did it come. In the past month or so I’ve had the privlage of rejoicing with some of that community! The thing that has hit me the most is how many of them I’ve also grieved with. I’ve also been able to watch as that situation which I had once grieved over I now rejoice in and that is what I am so compelled to share here today.

I know that every trial in my mine and my friends lives has a purpose. I know that in the end, however long that may be, they will see the beauty through the grief. They will be renewed and the Lord will turn it all around for good, for His purpose.

The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound; to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all who mourn; to grant to those who mourn in Zion-to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit; that they may be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he may be glorified. They shall build up the ancient ruins; they shall raise up the former devastation’s; they shall repair the ruined cities, the devastation’s of many generations…I will greatly rejoice in the Lord; my soul shall exult in my God, for he has clothed me with the garments of salvation; he has covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decks himself like a priest with a beautiful headdress, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels. For as the earth brings forth its sprouts, and as a garden causes what is sown in it to sprout up, so the Lord God will cause righteousness and praise to sprout up before all the nations” Isaiah 61: 1-4 &10-11

(read the whole chapter it’s pretty amazing)

This passage is talking about a renewal. From that which was bound and brokenhearted to that which is free and healed. I know that in the midst of the trial there seems no way out. It seems that there is no end to the despair and mourning but I can sit here today from my little computer and tell you that there is. There is renewal and freedom. When we surrender these things to the Lord He gladly takes them and turns them into something beautiful. He takes mourning and turns it to gladness, a faint spirit and turns it to praise, He takes ashes and trades it out for a beautiful headdress (I imagine mine as more of a crown. Hey, a girl can imagine right? whatever it is I will gladly accept it). Knowing all of this we still mourn. Being on the other side of it I still sit here with a heavy heart for those that are going through the pain now. I also sit here and thank the Lord that in the end He has renewal and joy and gladness. When the time comes I will sit with those same friends I have grieved with and I will rejoice in the newness that the Lord brings and for that I praise Him.

Actually, I praise Him for it all because I know it is not without a purpose.

Leave a Reply

