He will hold my hand

I’ve been staring at this screen for a while now, I’ve typed and erased and read and stopped and made a playlist, I stopped to sing and get up and put on the wash and get some more water and am back here. So I’ve decided to put away any fancy words or pretty pictures, to put away big words and really just shut off my brain and just be honest and type what’s on my heart.

 “But now, O Jacob, listen to the Lord who created you. O Israel, the one who formed you says, ‘Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine.’ ” Isaiah 43:1
How can you not be comforted by the fact that we are the Lords. We are His children, His creation,
we are His.
The past few weeks have been a little trying and uncomfortable to be honest. There has been a lot thrown at me and I’ve felt a lot of grace and a lot of condemnation at the same time. I’ve placed a lot of judgement on myself and have received a lot of love and acceptance from others. Some words have lifted me up and have given me a big hug and others have torn me down and set my mind in a slippery slope of what if’s and what am I doing wrongs (doing wrongs? I think I just made that up, I told you I was getting rid of fancy words and apparently grammar altogether for this post. bear with me people). it’s caused me to search my heart and rest in the Lord because
I am His.
I was listening to a study on Isaiah the other day and if you are my Facebook friend you’ll know that this passage caught my eye and comforted my soul:
“Don’t be afraid for I am with you. Don’t be afraid for I am your God. I will strengthen and help you. I will hold you by my victorious right hand. See all your angry enemies lie there confused and humiliated. Anyone who opposes you will die and come to nothing. You will look in vain for those who tried to conquer you. Those who attach you will come to nothing. For I will hold you by your right hand – I, The Lord your God. And I say to you don’t be afraid. I am here to help you… I the Lord am your redeemer. I  am the holy one of Israel.” Isaiah 41:10-14 NLT
Kinda left me speechless. I was drawn to the portion that says “For I will hold you by your right hand – I, the Lord your God” He will hold me by my right hand, He will hold my hand, My God, My Lord will hold my hand.
I love that visual, that thought, that truth. I love that I am not to fear, that when brought to a place where I feel out of control and anxious I have a strength and a help that is much bigger than anything that I can ever muster up. That the one who is already victorious will hold me, little ol’ insignificant me, with his right hand. No matter what anybody says or does or what rabbit hole my mind takes me down He is victorious and He will hold me and give me strength and take me by my weak hands and hold me.
All in all, through anything, through everything, big and small and made up and heaped on and when my windshield is foggy and I can’t even see my hand in front of me I just have to remember that my creator, the one who formed me, He calls me by name, I am His and with His victorious hand He will hold me, all of me and through Him, through His victory I too will have victory. With His strength I too will be strengthened.
And when I need it, when I feel weak and lonely and confused and exposed and out of control and when I don’t feel anything and even when I don’t “feel” that He is near I know:
He will hold my hand.
Leave a Reply

