A new anthem for this generation

Today, as I was driving, my mind was racing around as usual, very occupied and cluttered as it often is when I’m driving and all of a sudden six little words poured themselves out of my speakers and grabbed my attention. I promise, they snapped me right out of my traffic induced coma and breathed a breath of  unpolluted oxygen into my soul which woke me up and made me turn up the radio. As I listened to some  sugary sweet voices sing a new anthem for this generation.

Let me take a step or two back. I am very aware of the social/multi/insta-face-tumblr-blog-osphere media that is all around us (I’m missing like ten other sites I’m sure). I see what the next generation is posting, pining, gramming, vineing, booking and listening to and sometimes it makes me sad. It makes me sad but not surprised because 1Peter 5:8 tells us “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil  walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour”. Why wouldn’t he go after our young? why wouldn’t he prey on our kids, especially if we aren’t looking. It’s super easy. He just hides it all in pretty melodies and mesmerizing beats, he hides it behind pretty faces and whimsically artistic backgrounds.

Take this for example:

follow-your-heart-wallpaper_590730465

So pretty right? I mean the colors, the clouds, the sky, the way the words are just not perfect.  We love this kind of stuff, we pin it to our virtual pin boards and post it on instagram which then gets posted on our facebook walls. What is this photo really telling us? Obviously, follow your heart. Innocent enough, right? Well God’s word tells us in Jeremiah 17:9 “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked; who can know it?”

huh? Not so cutesy anymore, right?

Right, because that’s the truth. Follow your heart and you’ll find out how absolutely dark and deceitful it really is. I’m not trying to be a Debbie downer here, I mean I love a good quote board on pinterest, I love a fun and cutesy background. What I’m saying is just like 1Peter tells us we need to be on alert, sober-minded, listening, watching being mindful of what we put into our heads or what we let our brains munch on and what we let infiltrate our lives, virtual or otherwise, all because we weren’t really paying attention or we didn’t think it was that bad.

Folks, it’s that bad.

The anthem for the youth of today is YOLO, Live while you’re young, Only God can judge us, Live Big, Do what you want to do, Be who you want to be, follow your heart and emotions, I can’t change, fall in love, fall out of love, and fall back in love with somebody else, sleep around, drink up, party hard, smoke what you want, drugs are fine too… I could go on and on (and yes I’m pulling all of these sayings and ideas from the music of today) but I think you get the idea.

This is what makes me sad, this is what sometimes makes me feel hopeless for the next generation because the world can look so big and shiny and pretty and I’ll be the first to admit, i love big, shiny, pretty things. They distract me and pull me in if I’m not watchful and submitted to the Lord. I admit that I too can be blinded and that’s the plan. Blind them, keep them occupied and mesmerized.

Let’s read the 1Peter verse in context:

“Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you. Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world. But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while perfect, established, strengthen and settle you. To Him be the glory and the dominion forever and ever. Amen.” 1Peter5:6-11

The world tells us to do, to be, to go for it, follow your own way, live now.

Gods word tells us to humble ourselves, be sober, vigilant, resist, be steadfast in faith, give glory to God.

Quite the opposite right? This is why I get sad because it’s hard, I mean it says it right there in 1Peter there will be suffering. The thing that I think the world misses (well, they miss a lot) is that in the end we will be perfected, established, strengthened and settled and ultimately live in eternally in Heaven, which is a far better hope and promise than any little life I can try to make for myself here on earth.

Ok, back to the beginning or the post. The six little words that got my attention were “live for Jesus while we’re young”. What? right?! You never hear that. Live for Jesus? Not for self? That’s right.

Here are the words (sung by 1Girl Nation) that breathed fresh air into my wary little soul:

“Here we go
We’ve all heard people talking
About all the things that they regret
And what they would change to do it again
We know our stories just starting
So much is unwritten, yeah
We’re gonna go right when the world goes left
Cause we don’t wanna waste even one of these days
We’re gonna save
Ourselves the heartache
We’re not looking back
No
On what we wished we’d done
We’re gonna risk
It all for one thing
And live for jesus while we’re young
While we’re young

There’s gonna be some up times
There’s gonna be some real steeps climbs
So it’s here and now that we decide
If we’re gonna be ready for these days when life hits hard
We gotta know for sure now who we are
Cause we don’t wanna waste even one of these days
We’re gonna save
Ourselves the heartache
We’re not looking back
No
On what we wished we’d done
We’re gonna risk
It all for one thing
And live for jesus while we’re young
While we’re young
While we’re young

We know who we are
A chosen generation
We know who we are
This is our declaration”

Go ahead, breathe it in. Let it penetrate your wary little soul. Then go, be vigilant, be watchful, put on your sunglasses so you’re not blinded and peek inside the pretty wrapping before you open the package.

Let’s pray for our youth, and ourselves for that matter,  that they and we would decide to live for Jesus while we’re young. It’s time to practically live out and walk and be a new anthem for this generation.

3 Replies to “A new anthem for this generation”

Leave a Reply

